Did crossfit demolish my hand/palm endurance?

rzs
5/12/2015 12:32am Edited Date/Time 5/13/2015 8:51am
Hi all,
I've been riding and training in the gym for a couple years now, although I'm not the fastest rider, I do have very good fitness on the track or the trail. I've been doing just basically normal gym stuff and trying to ride as much as I can, my hands never bothered me, I was always able to go on and on without feeling any pain or fatigue in my hands when gripping the handlebar - of course being loose up top and gripping with my legs.

The problem started in the last couple of rides - normal track, normal day, normal warmup, normal everything. but I just can't ride more than a minute or two without my hands fatiguing out. basically what's changed is my gym routine as I started crossfit just 3 weeks ago.
I have two suspicions basically:
1. Either I work out too much that my hands are simply tired, and a few days between crossfit and riding should make things ok (just like you'd let any muscle relax). this makes it almost impossible to build a weekly routine though..
2. the insane amount of hand/palm/wrist STRETCHING before every crossfit workout (which I do ~4 times a week) actually hurt my hand muscles. I know there are talks of stretching actually hurting performance.. but my crossfit coach insists that it's the best way to avoid injury (I think that science is against him in the last couple years on that).

Any information or thoughts will be greatly appreciated. I'm deeply frustrated from having my general fitness improve but my hands blocking me from doing my target sport.

Thank!
|
rzs
5/12/2015 1:55am
Ok.. that's pretty retarded. thanks I guess
motokiwi
Fantasy
235th
5/12/2015 1:59am
a) are you taking creatine?

b) have you increased your grip strength?
rzs
5/12/2015 2:11am
a. I'm not taking creatine. never took it.. I'm using some protein powder (which is basically food so not relevant) and BCAA
b. not sure how to judge that?

The Shop