"Best" Helmet for Ventilation and Price? - Advice Needed

rikhek
Edited Date/Time 7/20/2014 10:47am
I’m a 52 year old vet MX rider in Oklahoma. Riding in the 100+ heat is the norm during the summer months. Home track is Reynard’s and the older I get the more the heat affects me. I’m wondering what helmet you feel provides the most ventilation. I wore a friend’s TLD Air last week and was very impressed with the ventilation. I rode better and longer. However, not a big fan of the fit and feel.

Lots of manufacturer claims and vented helmets available but hard to filter through them all. One brand I’m considering is the Klim F4 but wanted to see if you’d offer some advice on it or the other available offerings before I buy. The AGV AX-8 is another.

Price is also a significant consideration.

Thanks in advance.

Rick
|
neverwas
Fantasy
784th
5/23/2013 10:17am
Rick,
I own a Klim F4 and it is by far the most vented helmet I have ever worn.I also ride in extremely hot weather living in AZ.
Even with the optional "warm" liner it is still pretty vented and can be cold in cooler weather.
The fit for me is fine,my brother likes the fit of his Shoei better but when it gets hot he is wearing the Klim.
Every head is different and fit is important.
Matt
nytsmaC
5/23/2013 11:56am Edited Date/Time 5/23/2013 11:58am
Many of us helmet snobs will only buy Shoei or Arai (maybe add 6D into the mix now?).. If you're one too, Arais are definitely better vented than Shoeis. Can't say if they are the best vented on the market but they have got to be up near the top.

I still prefer Shoei's for the fit, venting is good enough.
5/23/2013 11:59am
I have the new Scorpion VX-R70 helmet that was recently released and I am very pleased with it. Super light weight, great ventilation, and very comfortable. Even has the air fit liner inflation system for a customized fit.

Check them out at www.scorpionusa.com. Great price point as well. $250-270.

The Shop

Deetsmx
5/23/2013 12:19pm