Attn Newmann!!....You are going to like this thread!

jeffro503
Edited Date/Time 11/13/2014 8:09am
I talked to you a couple years ago about my Dad's old bike. It's a 1969 Kawasaki 238cc Scrambler. Well.....by luck....I found a guy out here in the NW that knows how to restore bikes the right way.....and he's spoken to you a few times! He has some of his restored bikes at Hillsboro Honda and has sold some of them all over the NW and even to a dude in Sweden!

I'm a contractor and actually got called to come give him a bid on his job. Once he found out that I rode MX.....it was on from there.We talked MX for a bit and then he filled me in on how he restores bikes for fun. I told him about my Dad's bike and later that same night....he had already contacted some other builders that had a line in on some parts for the old gal.

Winter project coming........and I may be able to get this thing running again after 31yrs. I blew it up when I was 15yrs old. After I blew up my 1975 XR75....my dad couldn't afford a new bike for me and said " Kid....if you want to keep riding.....the 238 is out in the shed " So being 12yrs old , about 95lbs soaking wet....over the next 3yrs I learned the school of hard knox while that bike beat me into the ground! Mis-timing that compression release when you're that small....really , really hurts....and will send you over the bars every now and then!

This is what she looks like now. And I'm tearing it down to the bare frame and re-building her from the ground up. Goal for now is to just get it running. Also....if I can find the pics....I have some in 1969 where I was 1yrs old sitting on the tank with my dad sitting behind me. Bike has a bunch of sentimental value to it to me.

What I'm kind of shooting for.

|
Sandberm
11/12/2014 7:50pm
What an awesome project Jeff! It looks like you are starting out with something that is in pretty good shape. Regardless, be patient and enjoy your restoration. Smile
Sully
11/12/2014 7:55pm