Arm pump fix

Acidreamer
I thought id share what i did to alleviate my arm pump in hopes of it helping someone else.

Back at the end of 2015 i had started walking and eventually running everyday to try to get in better shape. I noticed after a month or so i was able to ride pretty much as long as i wanted before my hands cramped up.

The 2016 season i did absolutely no daily walking/running and was only able to ride 1 or 2 laps before having wicked arm pump. I know cardio is one of the main things to get rid of arm pump, but this post isnt about that.

Im an engineer and spend most of my day sitting at a desk(working 10-12 hour days). So to get to the point.. i found out that my calf muscle had gotten weaker from not exercising like i used to. so what happens is my legs get tired, and then cant hold good form and start putting weight on my hands and holding on tighter. All causes of arm pump. I know a lot of people have desk jobs or jobs where they dont get to walk around much. So what ive found is if you can strengthen your legs by walking/running/ or cycling standing up, you can rely on your legs more while riding and keep the weight off your arms.

Im sure all of this is basic to some people but ive been trying to fix arm pump for so long and nothing worked until i found this out.

Also, if youre already pumped up, you can have someone press their thumbs into your forearms and it makes the pump go away.
|
2/6/2017 6:35am
Ye I've noticed that myself. I always had an absolute death grip on the bars up until recently when I lost a lot of weight and started crossfit, now my hands are loose on the bars and I just grip with my legs. No arm pump at all these days, my legs just get a little tired by the end of a days riding.
kaptkaos
2/6/2017 6:58am
I keep reading and hearing, grip with your legs....my legs are plenty strong and I cycle a lot and do a lot of Plyo, problem is I dont understand or know how to use my legs to grip a bike!